8(a), the Mentor, and the reluctant protégé, Part IV

WilfongIf, then, a battle is coming on, stand on your OWN ground, not on that of others; take care to be found where you are known; make yourself and your stand known more and more, for in that state of being is the guarantee of Victory.” – Summary observation of H. Wilfong by R. Sutherland

Some things just ain’t that complicated.

Motive, principled in truth, will always win out; it’s that simple. Give me the substance of age before intellect any day of the week. I mean it.

And so, it has happened. Parity has happened. 8(a), HUBZone, and service-disabled veterans NOW have parity.

Haven’t you heard?

He said it would happen. He said it for years in his issuances, I have them; I have read them.

You know, I met him very deep into his journey; as he continued to do what those folk do who knows where they are going… however, I was a cynic, and I had to be.

Folk just ain’t this dedicated no more, not to nothin.

My plea was > Wilfong, “So certain, so necessary is all of this, my Brother, that you continue on; administration after administration, guarding this rusted and dilapidated gate? And for what? Most of the folk peddling their wares today don’t even know who you are…”

But see, this is what happens when you press on. This is what happens when you don’t let time interfere with focus. And, I am a witness… I am the reluctant protégé. Yet I have learned a lesson, and I have learned it well; if, then, a battle is coming on, stand on your OWN ground, not on that of others; take care to be found where you are known; make yourself and your stand known more and more, for in that state of being is the guarantee of Victory.

Hey, folk talk about doin this, complishin this and that, so forth and so on – but it mostly turns out to be bullshit.

But, did I tell you I’m a witness? Parity has happened, have you heard?

He ain’t done yet, but we pause to marinate in the moment…

Well done, Brother Wilfong, well done.

###

CONTEXT: the above was written in response to the enormous and tireless role that Hank Wilfong played in the United States Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship Chair Mary Landrieu, D-La., and Ranking Member Olympia J. Snowe, R-Maine, filing an amendment this week to the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2010 that will place three small business government contracting programs – HUBZone, 8(a) and service-disabled veterans – on an equal playing field when competing for business. For more information, goto: http://sbc.senate.gov/

1 comment
  1. Hank Wilfong Jr. said:

    Mr. Editor,

    Your comments are much appreciated by this old warrior. Yeah you were a little “skeptical”, but I knew I’d get you. You’re a reasonable person. Ergo you bow to logic and to truth. My background and experience pointed me towards the answer a little earlier than it did you.

    See, I was on my “OWN” ground. I was fighting a fight that I had fought many times before. I “lost” some of those fights, back in the day. But, they did not kill me, nor, my spirit. Thus, I was able to keep on keeping on. I’ve been beaten many times, but I’ve never been beaten down. So, I lived to fight another day.

    But, then, Rudy, I’ve always been more “lucky” than good. I’ve been blessed to have folk like yourself, who while not convinced, at first, have given me a chance to continue. Persistence and patience have always been two of my strong points. And, as you say “Some things just ain’t that complicated”.

    “Motive, principled in truth, will always win out; it’s that simple.”

    Ergo, “With Clarity, There Shall Be Parity”. And, with that there shall be EQUITY.

    That, My Brother is the goal.

    We shall pause “to marinate in the moment…”

    But, then, we gotta lock and load…we got a mission to complete…..

    The struggle continues, until we succeed-and we shall,

    Hank

Leave a Reply

